|what the dealio?|

*blows into the mike*

is this thing on? *ahem*

1, 2… 1, 2…

Here goes…

Is there any particular reason why advice is such a two faced… umm… itchbay?

Perhaps I have grand delusions about this whole idea. I (as a human with many peculiar flaws) tend to get too wrapped up, with the whole thinking deal. As far as I know, this is supposed to be kinda natural. Whenever I can’t get out of my head, I turn to treasured friends for advice. Now, usually, this is the stuff of legends. Their advice is to me like spinach was to popeye! It spurns me on with the power to take on the world!

I like to think that I am able to sometimes dispense some of the same for my friends. They have an issue that they’ve been stuck on, and I try to dole out some “spinach” for them (Weak play, but bear with me, I’m getting to something). Now, because of my lovely advice (or perhaps in spite of it) people continue to be awesome at their lives.

The thing that perplexes me, is why the same logical bit of genius thought that can spew forth from me for a treasured friend, sounds like preposterous blabbering of a ridiculous madman?
*self-conscious slow blink*

Anyways, I wonder why it is that we allow ourselves to be the ones who are willing to give advice, but cannot be bothered to take the advice that we’d happily give, when we’re in need of it. It’s not like we don’t know any better either. For example, if I knew of a friend who was dieting, I’d definitely encourage them to not have an extra slice of cake, but when it is me who is staring down a sinfully delicious dessert, I cannot help but scarf it down (It’s like it was calling out to me, and I could think of nothing further than it’s sweetness dissolving on my tongue, damn you cake!)

The interesting thing is that a lot of the time, it just takes that one little nudge from someone for us to get over ourselves altogether. Even though it might be the same thing that we were thinking ourselves, it just seems much more plausible if it was coming from the mouth of someone else (especially if they were blessed with a British or Australian accent. AMIRIGHT?!?)
By this logic, and my show of temporary insanity, who in their right mind would take advice from me?! I can’t even stomach my own wisdom. This seems logical to me, until I think about how I feel when someone does not take my advice, and something goes wrong. My first thought is not about how I could possibly write so ridiculously in the form of blog prose, but how could someone dismiss my hard thought nuggets of amazing wisdom?!

Ugh. The nerve.

Usually the gut reactions are the best ones because they’re unfiltered. The filtering is a way that we try to keep ourselves safe, or without blame for the decisions that we make (or have to make). This is something that I have to try to get better at! I know that I have good ideas, I just need some help to realize this? It’s all so confusing. I wish that someone would tell me to just listen to myself.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

